LIVING WITH THE MOMENT
There are people who live in the past. They might be pretty young but they are longing for  their  memories to keep them alive. These  memories are their stronghold that keeps them stable and secure in their present reality.

I’ve never been like that, never been sentimental to keep the first love letter, the first lock of the child or her first silver spoon or something like that. Though I am the fan of history and  like stories of past but mainly because of  scientific interest, passion for exploration rather than nostalgia. Whatever happened – already happened. You better get lessons from it but you can’t change it.

I am a person of the future. I need something great ahead of me in order to strive and to reach.  I need  to be challenged.  However sometimes life becomes so hectic, running at lightning speed because I feel the urge to do too many projects at once. Because I feel that this is imperative and crucial  to do all these things in order to feel myself fulfilled and accomplished.

However we know from Chassidus (Jewish Philosophical teaching)  that the greatest advantage has the person who is neither dwelling on the past nor on the future. The one who lives with the moment. He is called pnimi in hebrew – an inward person.

I am trying to teach myself to slow down, to take  a deep breath and look around to see what’s going on while I am in such a rush to catch the escaping reality. To cherish and to enjoy the moment,  to concentrate on what I am doing now rather what I’ll need to do sooner or later. The vision of where you are heading  is still important as well as to be loyal to your past but the real life is now, in this particular moment. This is what is defining you, making you who you really are.

The photo is credited to Henry Kisor  Sunrise over Lake Superior, Michigan, July 2011
11 thoughts on “

  1. Nachama Pechenik says:

    I really appreciate your essay. This is so true. Once one stops and “sees” the people near them they realize that they are where they need to be. My loved ones are more important than my iPhone and to do list. I always want to reach out to friends, but the time always gets so full. I hope the people I love – know it. In this world it is so hard to keep up with everything. I’ll just take it one day at a time…

  2. Happy to see you here, Nachama( Gabby 😉 !
    Thanks for your input!

  3. True words of wisdom. Good luck to you and thanks for sharing!

  4. shula says:

    practically speaking, how are you planning to “slow down”?
    shula

  5. Devorah says:

    Good points about living in the present, savoring the moment, being self-aware. Totally agree.

  6. Isn’t that also the Buddhist idea–of the “now”. Not sure but I empathize with you–way too many things I think I have to get done–looking into the future and then you realize your life has passed you by. It is a battle to stay in the present.

Leave a Reply

